Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: What RAM for xfx 790i ultra?

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    4

    Default What RAM for xfx 790i ultra?

    Whats the best compatible memory for a xfx 790i ultra?

    looking at anything between 1333mhz and up.

    thanks.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    3,601

    Default

    Hello,

    Any lines ending in N work best with Nvidia chipsets.

    Ie; PVS34G2000LLKN...

    PVS32G2000LLKNB
    DDR3 2GB 2000MHZ LOW LATENCY KIT (NVIDIA? WITH 3DMARK?VANTAGE

    PVS34G2000LLKNB
    DDR3 4GB 2000MHZ LOW LATENCY KIT (NVIDIA? WITH 3DMARK?VANTAGE

    PVS32G1800LLKNB
    DDR3 2GB 1800MHZ LOW LATENCY KIT (NVIDIA�) WITH 3DMARK� VANTAGE

    Below 1800 any dual channel intended for older Intel line should be fine.

    Please refer to the following for restrictions:
    http://www.patriotmemory.com/forums/...read.php?t=808

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Posts
    2

    Default

    Just wanted to give the board a heads up...I thought that for convenience I would do the flash from within the Nvidia Control Panel, since the option was available, and guess what?

    Black screen, no Beeps, no method of resetting CMOS or anything will bring it back to life.

    Had a Checksum error and a "Flash Failed" Message, then after my next reboot...black screen of lifelessness.

    So heads up, stay away from Flashing using Nvidia Control Panel.

    Now im off to see if im totally FUBAR and buying a new board, or if my warranty will cover it.
    r4i software

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    3,601

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by jonelee View Post
    Just wanted to give the board a heads up...I thought that for convenience I would do the flash from within the Nvidia Control Panel, since the option was available, and guess what?

    Black screen, no Beeps, no method of resetting CMOS or anything will bring it back to life.

    Had a Checksum error and a "Flash Failed" Message, then after my next reboot...black screen of lifelessness.

    So heads up, stay away from Flashing using Nvidia Control Panel.

    Now im off to see if im totally FUBAR and buying a new board, or if my warranty will cover it.
    Thanks for the heads up.

    I try to avoid operating system flashes ar all costs. Might be a good idea to flash from default (or even downclocked) settings as well.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    3,601

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by bradsmokes View Post
    Can you please provide details of all memory that has workerd for you on your xfx 790i ultra sli, to help others when buying 790i ultra...
    Hey Bradsmokes,

    The following are current lines that should work with this platform:

    PVS34G2000LLKNB - 4GB (2x2GB) 2000 9-9-9
    PVS32G2000LLKNB - 2GB (2x1GB) 2000 9-9-9
    PV234G1600LLK - 4GB (2x2GB) 1600 7-7-7
    PGS34G1600ELK - 4GB (2x2GB) 1600 9-9-9
    PV234G1333LLK - 4GB (2x2GB) 1333 7-7-7
    PGS34GG1333ELK - 4GB (2x2GB) 1333 9-9-9

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Posts
    2

    Default

    I have the EVGA version of this board, and I flashed the BIOS via nForce. I checked the box that said "Clear BIOS" and it didn't, but I didn't realize it at the time. It caused all kinds of corruption problems with Vista and I had to reload it, and that failed. Then I cleared the BIOS manually via the jumper, and everything's back to normal after a clean install. This is the first time I've flashed from within windows too. I was nervous to do it, but I had read about some others having success at it. Of course I didn't see your post until after I had already done it.

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Posts
    5

    Default post what is working

    Others please post your memory that is working at what speeds with the 790i ultra boards please provide memory numbers.

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    2

    Default

    Hi guys,

    It sounds strange, but I have a set of PGV34G2000ELK on my eVGA 790i Ultra SLI

    These are my BIOS settings:
    **System **
    Bios: P06
    CPU Freq, MHz: 3937.5 Mhz
    FSB Reference Clock, MHz: [1750]
    CPU Multiplier: [9X]
    PCle x16-1 & 16-2, MHz: [100]
    PCle x16-3, MHz: [100]
    SPPc->MCP Ref Clock, MHz: [200]
    nForce SPP --> nForce MCP: [5X]
    nForce SPP c-- nForce MCP: [5X]

    **Spread Spectrum**
    CPU Spread Spectrum: [Disabled]
    HT Spread Spectrum: [Disabled]
    PCle Spread Spectrurn(SPP): [Disabled]
    PCle Spread Spectrurn(MCP): [Disabled]
    SATA Spread Spectrum: [Disabled]

    **FSB & Memorv Config**
    FSB - Memory Clock Mode: [Linked]
    FSB - Memory Ratio: [Sync Mode]
    FSB (QDR), MHz: [1750]
    Actual FSB (QDR), MHz: [1750.0]
    x MEM (DDR), MHz: [Linked]
    Actual MEM (DDR), MHz: [1750.0]
    P1: [Enabled]
    P2: [Enabled]

    **Memory Timing Setting**
    Memory Timing Setting: [expert]
    tCL (CAS Latency): [9]
    tRCD: [9]
    tRP: [9]
    tRAS: [27]
    Command Per Clock: [2T]

    ** Advanced Memory Settings **
    tRRD: [AUTO(6)] 7
    tRC: [AUTO(41)] 44
    tWR: [AUTO(12)] 12
    tWTR: [AUTO(18)] 19
    tFAW: [AUTO(31)] 33
    tREF: [7.8uS] 7.8uS
    tRFC: [AUTO(88)] 94

    **System Voltages**
    CPU Core: 1.44375 Current value 1.38 V
    CPU FSB: 1.35V
    Memory: 1.650V]
    nForce SPP: [AUTO] 1.40V
    nForce MCP: [AUTO] 1.50V
    GTLVREF Lane 0: [AUTO] -50mv
    GTLVREF Lane 1: [AUTO] -50mv
    GTLVREF Lane 2: [AUTO] -0mv
    GTLVREF Lane 3: [AUTO] -0mv

    **CPU Configuration**
    Limit CPUlD Maxval: Disabled
    Intel Speedstep: Disabled
    xPPM Mode: [Native]
    CPU Thermal Control: [Disabled]
    C1E Enhanced Halt State: [Disabled]
    Execute Disable Bit: [Disabled]
    Virtualization Technology: [Disabled]
    CPU Core 0: [Enabled]
    CPU Core 1: [Enabled]
    CPU Core 2: [Enabled]
    CPU Core 3: [Enabled]

    Did a few test-runs with different games.
    Seems stable enough. Temps aer all ok.

    You might wonder why I am running P55 -memory on my 790i board...
    Well let's say that the person who advised me wasn't clear enough, or I was not clear enough when asking for advise.
    Thing is that I seriously want to investigate if it is possible to run my rig stable with the mem on 1800 Mhz (or even higher since it is capable of running @ 2000 Mhz).

    Any thoughts/advise on this ??

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Posts
    3,601

    Default

    If you're running the memory synced then it might be the cpu fsb that might be the bottleneck in the overclock.

    Try running it unlinked from the native fsb to most direct memory strap ratio:
    http://www.patriotmemory.com/forums/...ead.php?t=1263

    You may also need to try increasing the dram bus voltage to 1.70v, 1.75v, 1.80v, etc...

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Location
    The Netherlands
    Posts
    2

    Default

    Hi Ben,

    why wouldn't I keep them synced and linked ?
    That is the most ideal setting, I guess... or am I mistaken here ?

    The overclock itself isn't really bad (all on air), but I am curious if this memory can do the same/less/more as memory specific for a 790i chipset motherboard.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •