Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234
Results 31 to 39 of 39

Thread: Release 4 Firmware (BETA)

  1. #31
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    In the land of make believe.
    Posts
    501

    Default

    http://www.patriotmemory.com/forums/...-your-Valkyrie

    Root access instructions towards the bottom of the first post.

    As for business grade NFS for virtualization... HELL NO. You dodged a bullet. This is a consumer/SOHO product. I would be SHOCKED if you found a good, reliable solution that cost less than 400 for a NEW unit. (though, i remain fond of FreeNAS on some mid range hardware for that )
    I AM NOT A PATRIOT MEMORY EMPLOYEE.

    But they have, on occasion, bribed me with hardware.



    I am happy to help, but don't PM me. Post a thread in the appropriate forum so others may benefit and offer assistance.
    Your lack of planning is not an emergency on my part.

  2. #32
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    20

    Default

    Thank you BadIntentions.

    root enabled, works just fine.

    unfortunately, restarting nfsd with -d and -s (debug / syslog level logging) has no effect.

    Modified /etc/exports so that only rw was the option, reran /usr/sbin/exportfs -ra, no luck :-(

    Without logging, it's virtually impossible to see / understand why there's a permission error. Valkyrie pings client in question by both name and IPAddr w/o any problems.

    jerry

  3. #33
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    In the land of make believe.
    Posts
    501

    Default

    try running ls -l on the exported directory from the Valkyrie, maybe its an ownership issue...
    I AM NOT A PATRIOT MEMORY EMPLOYEE.

    But they have, on occasion, bribed me with hardware.



    I am happy to help, but don't PM me. Post a thread in the appropriate forum so others may benefit and offer assistance.
    Your lack of planning is not an emergency on my part.

  4. #34
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    20

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BadIntentions View Post
    try running ls -l on the exported directory from the Valkyrie, maybe its an ownership issue...
    Unfortunately, more times than not, the command gets 'Segementation fault'

    /sbin $ cd /mnt/data
    /mnt/data $ ls
    Segmentation fault
    /mnt/data $ ls -l
    Segmentation fault
    /mnt/data $ ls -l
    Segmentation fault
    /mnt/data $ ls -l
    Segmentation fault

    I've attempted to turn on the syslogd to watch what is happening, but it won't start because it cannot create Socket /dev/log (read-only file system).
    /sbin $ ./syslogd
    syslogd: Could not connect to socket /dev/log: Read-only file system

    klogd starts, but since I'm telnet'd in (not on the console) I can't seem to recover any messages it might be displaying.

    According to the exports man page on my Linux system (Mandriva 2010.2), using an entry like 192.168.1.*(options) isn't supported, but may work. I've
    tried to hard code ip addr of my client, I've tried 192.168.1.1/22, and I've even added my domain as a line to /etc/resolv.conf and then used *.my.domain(rw).
    None seem to get past the permissions error.

    I'm frustrated that it worked "out of the box" when first added to my network, but after a lengthy power outage it no longer works.

    I'm wondering if it could it be some other network device (switch, UVerse modem/router) that is really the culprit?

  5. #35
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    In the land of make believe.
    Posts
    501

    Default

    Does rebooting the box make it behave any better?
    I AM NOT A PATRIOT MEMORY EMPLOYEE.

    But they have, on occasion, bribed me with hardware.



    I am happy to help, but don't PM me. Post a thread in the appropriate forum so others may benefit and offer assistance.
    Your lack of planning is not an emergency on my part.

  6. #36
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    20

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by BadIntentions View Post
    Does rebooting the box make it behave any better?
    Unfortunately not - it "forgets" all my changes. Obviously the configuration information is stored elsewhere and the standard Linux config files (/etc/hosts, /etc/resolv.conf, and /etc/exports) are recreated at boot time. NFS is also not persistent from reboot to reboot. First thing one has to do after rebooting is re-enable NFS :-(

    Had a power outage again last night, only this time I was home and with the UPS squawking I was able to power down my Linux machine AND power down the Valkyrie.

    Not sure if the Valkyrie has an NFS client, but I've tried the following:

    /mnt/data $ /usr/sbin/exportfs -ra
    exportfs: /etc/exports [1]: Neither 'subtree_check' or 'no_subtree_check' specified for export "192.168.1.*:/mnt/data/public".
    Assuming default behaviour ('no_subtree_check').
    NOTE: this default has changed since nfs-utils version 1.0.x

    exportfs: can't open /var/lib/nfs/rmtab for reading
    /mnt/data $ mount -t nfs 192.168.1.2:/data /mnt/data/public
    mount: Mounting 192.168.1.2:/data on /mnt/data/public failed: No such device

    192.168.1.2 is my Linux box, and looking at the log there, I see:

    Aug 15 21:25:43 unix mountd[11507]: authenticated mount request from 192.168.1.30:951 for /data (/data)

    Thinking that /mnt/data/public inode was somehow corrupted (which was what was causing all the Segmentation faults during 'ls'), I 'mv'd it to public.old and then did a 'mkdir public'. Tried the mount again, only to have it fail. Apparently there is no support for Valkyrie to be an NFS client :-(

    Powered up another Linux box on my network, and it was successful in mounting 192.168.1.2:/data. But received 'access denied' by the Valkyrie when it attempted to mount the exported (or so I thought) /mnt/data/public.

    Interesting - I can ping by shortname (i.e. w/o domain), but once I try using domain, it can't find anything. OK - this is something I can work with. Leads me to believe that the UVerse Modem is also doing name serving...

  7. #37
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    20

    Default Weird data point - M$ NFS client working, Linux not

    In my ongoing pursuits to get the NFS server of the Valkyrie working, I attempted to connect to the Valkyrie with my Windows XP box. It saw easily mounted the Samba shares - the Linux boxes have done the same, but when I opened up the 'My Netwok Places' window, I saw the NFS mount /mnt/data/public also!

    I had installed Microsoft's Services for Unix (Interix) software a while back and had never had much success mixing NFS client w/Samba mounts on the same machine. This is the first time I actually saw it function. When I double clicked on the /mnt/data/public icon, I saw the contents of the NFS directory!

    Meanwhile, the mount request from the Linux system still gets an access denied message.

    Code:
    $ sudo mount -t nfs -o nolock diskspace:/mnt/data/public /home/backup
    mount.nfs: access denied by server while mounting diskspace:/mnt/data/public
    Now I'm thinking that there is obviously something going on with the NFS client on the Linux systems that would cause such an issue.

  8. #38
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    20

    Default Correction: M$ NFS client *not* working

    I didn't realize that /mnt/data/public was also a Samba share :-(

    Was being accessed via CIFS - not NFS ...

    Can use smbclient on my Linux machine to access /mnt/data/public

    Back to the drawing board, scratching my head.

  9. #39
    Join Date
    Jan 2011
    Posts
    14

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •